PDA

View Full Version : Newbie .deb build : apt-get build-dep after install + more

zackiv31
August 7th, 2009, 04:42 AM
So I'm just getting into this package building myself for ubuntu as I've needed the latest and greatest of some packages out there... So here's my question, maybe followed by some others...

1. I downloaded a Source Package... is there an easy way to build a deb from it (minimal/easy instructions?) I've seen checkinstall but it doesn't "require" other packages, so moving the deb to another machine doesn't require any of the necessary packages.

2. The file I want to install is in the repo's... but its not the latest... I learned of this apt-get build-dep function that can tell what you need to run the package... Is there a similar function I can run *after* the package has been installed (or an older version is installed)?

Short Version:

Just trying to build .deb files from a straight tarball of the source... want it to require all necessary files, and be able to be moved to another machine and install. (This should work for tarballs that are old and in the repo's, or not in there at all)

s3a
August 11th, 2009, 07:34 PM
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1237600

I am asking a similar question but maybe my usual procedure is the answer you seek. You could also get the source from a repository of a later version of Ubuntu than that you're using and not need to do dh_make --createorig or if you use an upstream source, you would have to do that. build-dep packagename only works if there is an older version in the repositories. If there is no older version, you will need to obtain the dependencies manually via apt-get by checking a readme file or something. By the way, Checkinstall is a terrible way to make .debs.

zackiv31
August 13th, 2009, 05:58 AM
This is a start s3a... But I dont know what I'm doing wrong...

me@me:~/Desktop/libtorrent-rasterbar-0.14.4$ dh_make --createorig