PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] dual-boot ubuntu windows-vista home premium

souse
August 6th, 2009, 11:01 AM
I was able to install Ubuntu 8.04 LTS & 9.04 as a dual-boot. However during installation, it prompted only two options

1) use entire-disk
2) manual partition

as manual partition is only for experts. I didn't touch that.
Also I don't want to give entire-disk to ubuntu as I have Windows vista running and I will take some more time to get comfortable with ubuntu and do away with vista.

I was expecting 3 options as provided in ubuntu pocketguide, but got only two. Is there a way around?
----------

Hi,

I AM A NOVICE NOW!

I am committed to switching to ubuntu after being fed-up with Windows. I used ubuntu pocketguide for reference and tried to install 9.04 alongside windows vista home premium.
I downloaded both 32-bit & 64-bit (as my C2D supports) and changed the boot loader to start ubuntu installation.

With 32-bit, after restarting and using boot item to select CD-ROM, I got only blank screen with _ blinking after a while it tries to load Windows.

With 64-bit, after selecting it to load from CD-ROM for installation, I was asked to select the language. I chose English and then it goes to a screen when I have 5 options. I chose 'Install ubuntu'...after pressing Enter....the page stays as it is ...for atleast one hour. I also couldn't use F4 F5 or any of the keys.

I am downloading 8.04 LTS if it can be of help. Pls can any one of you ever encountered this problem / question. Kindly guide me.

Thanks, Vj

souse
August 7th, 2009, 04:54 AM
Is there a way to allocate only certain disk space for ubuntu and retain vista during installation?

BZF
August 7th, 2009, 04:58 AM
yes you choose manuel partition, its not for experts its just for setting up the space ubuntu will use

AmerNewbieInDE
August 7th, 2009, 08:30 AM