PDA

View Full Version : Content Management Systems for the Web

altonbr
August 4th, 2009, 08:26 PM
I'm a web developer and have been for over four years. I've tried multiple CMSes (content management systems) for my website and I haven't found a single one that "just works", especially the way I want it to.

Wordpress is too much like a blog
Joomla is too complex and doesn't allow for developing if need be
MediaWiki doesn't have all the features of a CMS that I need or want

So I'm currently going to look at Plone. I just wanted to hear what everyone else thinks and uses personally.

I'm looking for a CMS that is focused on pages (home page, contact page, individual pages (not a blog)) and documents (if I upload 50-60 documents, I need to be able to list them all on a page and have the list automatically updated every time I upload a releated document). Addtionally, it needs to be easy to theme. Wordpress is much easier than Joomla and MediaWiki in this case.

Viva
August 4th, 2009, 08:33 PM
You did not mention Drupal, did you try it?

a3uge
August 4th, 2009, 08:38 PM
Well I had the same problem years back. I felt I couldn't do enough with the html I knew, so I tried to use Joomla. Could not get the pages how I wanted, so I dug in and really practiced and started developing my own websites. For a website with static pages, developing your own site should not be very difficult at all. You can google "free css templates" or "free css layouts" and can tweak things from there if you aren't at all familiar with css.

I know I didn't really answer your question at all, but knowing php, html, and css in depth can be real satisfying in terms of getting a website to look and perform the way you want. But as for uploading the documents and displaying them as a list, it may be easy to make a protected page with an upload form, and save the file in a database every time you upload, and using php, you can display that list.

kellemes
August 4th, 2009, 08:41 PM