PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual boot master / slave question

Danne_M
August 4th, 2009, 01:11 PM
Hi everybody,

I am new to Linux and have not yet started my first installation. I will install UBUNTU 9.04 on a DELL Inspiron 8200 where I have already Win XP installed on a Western Digital IDE disk. I have bought a second WD IDE disk and my objective is to be able to choose XP or Linux at startup.

My question is now how the two disks should be strapped. I have understood that I should set up the BIOS to boot the Linux disk first since Linux (GRUB) will recognize that an XP disk is present as well, and offer the choice which system to boot, but how do I strap the two disks?
Linus master & xp slave?
Linux master & xp master?

And what about the third strap option on the WD disks, "master with slave"??

Please give me some advice how to do.

Best regards,
Dan (in Sweden)

wizard10000
August 4th, 2009, 01:16 PM
Hi everybody,

I am new to Linux and have not yet started my first installation. I will install UBUNTU 9.04 on a DELL Inspiron 8200 where I have already Win XP installed on a Western Digital IDE disk. I have bought a second WD IDE disk and my objective is to be able to choose XP or Linux at startup.

My question is now how the two disks should be strapped. I have understood that I should set up the BIOS to boot the Linux disk first since Linux (GRUB) will recognize that an XP disk is present as well, and offer the choice which system to boot, but how do I strap the two disks?
Linus master & xp slave?

Best regards,
Dan (in Sweden)

Your drives should probably be jumpered as cable select on any machine built in the last several years. That way the drive on the end of the cable is master and the one on the connector closest to the motherboard is slave.

Your IDE cable also needs to support cable select but that shouldn't be an issue with any machine built in the last five or six years.