PDA

View Full Version : Shell Shocked from shell scripts

lile001
August 4th, 2009, 01:42 AM
I am pretty new at shell scripts, having written two, one of which actually worked. Now I'm trying to figure out why this doesn't work suddenly.

I have a simple shell script called junk.sh, containing the classic line:

echo "Fear not our robot overlords"

I have run

chmod 775 junk.sh
and
chmod +x junk.sh.

When I type "junk" or "junk.sh" at a terminal, in the same directory, I get:

bash: junk: command not found

Now, I am sure that I did this successfully once before, making a little script that actually did something. What does it take to make this script executable?

pizmooz
August 4th, 2009, 01:45 AM
try adding as the very first line of your script:

#!/bin/bash

it is the 'she-bang', it determines what interpretor runs the scripts

benj1
August 4th, 2009, 01:59 AM
also you need to use ./junk.sh

unless youve exported the path in your .bashrc
ie
export PATH=$PATH:/home/user/bin

lile001
August 4th, 2009, 02:03 AM
try adding as the very first line of your script:

#!/bin/bashit is the 'she-bang', it determines what interpretor runs the scripts

Hmm. Robot overlords are still winning. Here's the script:

#!/bin/bash
echo "Fear not our robot overlords."

and the result is

bash: ./junk.sh: /bin/bash^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory

kayvortex
August 4th, 2009, 02:09 AM
Well,

bash: ./junk.sh: /bin/bash^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory

means that your shell can't find the interpretor that you requested -- i.e., /bin/bash can't be found on your system.

What does,

echo $SHELL
print out?

Edit: forget that, I've spotted that "^M" in the output you posted. What editor are you using to write that script? "^M" is usually the result of editing MS-DOS text files since Microsoft uses a different convention for indicating the end of a line in a text document.

jpkotta
August 4th, 2009, 02:50 AM