PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't log in to Facebook, Flickr & any other PHP based sites.

putush
August 4th, 2009, 12:01 AM
I have been using Ubuntu since 2 months now. I have Firefox 3.5.2 and Opera installed as my browsers. I have noticed, that I am unable to login to Facebook, Flickr and upload content with Flash uploader based sites like mediafire. Even basic documents created in Zoho office, I cannot store them.
It has been happening since the time I have started using the OS. Surprisingly I am able to log into Yahoo mail but not Flickr, and Facebook just allows me to view my page, I cannot do anything.
I just can't pin point where there problem is, because its being repeated on all browsers and adobe air apps on my comp, yet not by any of these service providers when I have tried to seek help.
With Firefox further, I am not able to post a thread in this forum. Although, with Opera I can.
Kindly help.
Thank you

stoogiebuncho
August 4th, 2009, 03:55 AM
Have you disabled cookies? (in firefox: Edit > Preferences > Privacy)

Are you browsing in private mode?

putush
August 4th, 2009, 09:05 AM
no I am not browsing in private mode. Neither are cookies disabled

superprash2003
August 4th, 2009, 11:58 AM
try using opendns servers - 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

putush
August 4th, 2009, 05:12 PM
I used opendns. However, the problem is still not solved. I still cannot access the sites mentioned above.

stoogiebuncho
August 4th, 2009, 11:52 PM
I wonder if this could be a permissions issue. If you don't have permissions set up correctly in your settings folder, it might not let firefox save data there.

Try checking the permissions on your .mozilla folder (probably in home/username/.mozilla)

Chemical Imbalance
August 4th, 2009, 11:54 PM
Do you have NoScript or similar add-ons installed?

jflaker
August 4th, 2009, 11:57 PM