PDA

View Full Version : Virtual Box For 32bit



jacklinux
August 3rd, 2009, 08:33 PM
is there a realease for windows 32bit virtual box?
Links would be nice. Also there there a 32bit for ubuntu.

jocampo
August 3rd, 2009, 08:36 PM
is there a realease for windows 32bit virtual box?
Links would be nice. Also there there a 32bit for ubuntu.

VirtualBox binaries and links
http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

enjoy! ;-)

LowSky
August 3rd, 2009, 08:36 PM
really? you couldn't find the download?
http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads

tacantara
August 3rd, 2009, 08:39 PM
Check out the downloads at http://dlc.sun.com/virtualbox/vboxdownload.html

I use the 32 bit version of VirtualBox on my Ubuntu host (the computer I'm working on now). Sun does make a version of VB for Windows hosts (32 bit) also.

jacklinux
August 3rd, 2009, 08:40 PM
really? you couldn't find the download?
http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads
i saw them, but they all say (for 64bit windows only)

bodhi.zazen
August 3rd, 2009, 08:46 PM
i saw them, but they all say (for 64bit windows only)

No that is not what they say (read closer) :





VirtualBox 3.0.2 for Windows hosts x86/amd64 (http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/3.0.2/VirtualBox-3.0.2-49928-Win.exe)

It is the same installer for both 32 (x86) and 64 (amd64) bit Windows.

jacklinux
August 3rd, 2009, 08:47 PM
Ah thats what x86 means! i though that was something to do with 65bit :P, silly me.
why can't it just say 32bit/64bit.
I will report if i have trouble installing.

Hospadar
August 3rd, 2009, 09:32 PM
why can't it just say 32bit/64bit.


In case you're really curious, x86 and amd64 are the names of the instruction sets used by typical intel and amd (also via) cpu's. the "32bit" or "64 bit" refers to the size of a memory word in that architecture (generally the size of a cpu register, the super-fast memory used by the cpu to store intermediate results and arguments.). There are in fact other 32 and 64 (as well as 8, 16, and many other) bit architectures, it just so happens that just about every desktop you've ever used (except for a pwer-pc mac) uses x86 or amd64 instructions.