PDA

View Full Version : how to set gedit for compiling and running java programs

jndlsnl
August 3rd, 2009, 02:13 PM
hi, i m newbie here....and i m using ubuntu 9.04. can anyone tell me tht how can i set gedit for compiling and running java programs....i have some threads but not anyone working for me....i very begginner here so plz tell me step by step info to set gedit for compiling and running java programs

thnx in advance...

Sockerdrickan
August 3rd, 2009, 02:36 PM
Just run a separate terminal or you'll loose some precious lines of view!

.Maleficus.
August 3rd, 2009, 02:37 PM
Do you have the JDK installed? To compile/run a Java program from the command line, this is the process you take. Note - this is done from a terminal.

cd path/to/java/source
javac MyProgram.java
java MyProgram
javac (the compiler) takes optional arguments (http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.4.2/docs/tooldocs/windows/javac.html) and must be in your $PATH to work. If you aren't sure if your $PATH variable is set correctly, go to a terminal and type 'echo $PATH' and post the output here.

jndlsnl
August 3rd, 2009, 03:01 PM
yeah i hve installed jdk. and from terminal i can compile and run the java programs...

but i want to do it with from gedit as i post......how to set gedit for compiling and running java programs

wojox
August 3rd, 2009, 03:04 PM
snip

Dullstar
August 4th, 2009, 01:15 AM
I can't say about the compiling part, but I'd really like to know why they cannot be ran on my computer.

kayvortex
August 4th, 2009, 01:38 AM