PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't find those .exe files on my CD

StephenG
August 2nd, 2009, 08:10 PM
I have only Ubuntu 9.04. No other Windows partitions or installs. I seem to have the latest version of Wine installed adn it shows up on the applications menu. I'm trying to install Rosetta Stone v.3, which is rated either Gold or Platinum, depending on where you're looking in the WineApp database. After I put the RS CD into the drive, the drive shows up on my menu but there's no indication there are any files on the CD. There are, in fact, since I just installed the program on my other Win machine. I've tried going through the Wine process and it can't find anything. I've tried going through terminal and changing to the CD drive. Again, no files of any kind indicated. I've tried every combination of "Wine setup.exe" I can imagine. Nothing finds that setup file on the CD. Any ideas? Since I'm pretty new at Linux, a more step-by-step approach is appreciated. Thanks.

SunnyRabbiera
August 2nd, 2009, 08:21 PM
Odd, can you open up a file manager and verify?
(go up to places> home in your main menu)

Paddy Landau
August 2nd, 2009, 08:24 PM
I'm not sure whether this will help.

Try installing PlayOnLinux (http://www.playonlinux.com/). It's a kind of Wine manager that makes it easy to install, run and uninstall Windows packages.

Then try to install the CD using PlayOnLinux.

j.bell730
August 2nd, 2009, 08:27 PM
This happened to me with The Sims 3, for some reason. I had to go into the CD directory, and click View > Show hidden files. Yes, the files on the CD were hidden, then, I could see all files I needed, and install successfully.

Hope this helps.

StephenG
August 2nd, 2009, 08:39 PM