View Full Version : [ubuntu] I am a noob and need help with my xorg.conf file

August 2nd, 2009, 04:19 PM
My system is an Asus EEEPC 4G SURF I have the latest Ubuntu installed. I have been able to get everything but my video working to my frustration. After 20 something tries to config my xorg.conf file I have given up and hope that some nice people here can tell me what I need to do to make the file work correctly.

Here is what I have installed.
Resolution1360x768 pixels OpenGL RendererMesa DRI Intel(R) 915GM GEM 20090326 2009Q1 RC2 x86/MMX/SSE2
KernelLinux 2.6.28-14-generic (i686)

Loaded Modules
i915Intel Graphics drmDRM shared core routinesintel_agp
agpgartAGP GART driver

ACPI Video Driver

OpenGL VendorTungsten Graphics, Inc RendererMesa DRI Intel(R) 915GM GEM 20090326 2009Q1 RC2 x86/MMX/SSE2 Version1.4 Mesa 7.4 Direct RenderingYes
If someone out there would be kind enough to give me an xorg.conf file for this setup with 8 megs of video ram. I would be very greatful. Also if there is anything I am missing that is causing this setup not to work please let me know what I need.

August 2nd, 2009, 05:34 PM
I'm certainly no expert on this area, but did you try to use the xfix option from recovery mode? Hit the escape key when GRUB starts loading and select the recovery mode option. Then wait for it to give you a menu and use the arrow keys to go all the way down to the xfix option. After that runs, you should be able to exit the menu (when it comes up again) and resume booting. Your problem sounds related to screen resolution. Go to system > preferences > Display and see if you can change it.

I also found this really good guide for editing xorg.conf file.
It's for BSD, but it should also work Ubuntu.

You can also try here:

August 2nd, 2009, 05:53 PM