PDA

View Full Version : Noob - how do you add icons and launchers to NBR desktop

Spaceford
August 2nd, 2009, 10:56 AM
I'm surprised this isn't a more commonly asked question, but I've got Ubuntu Netbook Remix up and running on an Acer Aspire One and it's great (went crazy trying to use Linpus!).

Now I've installed some favourite programs like Songbird and Celtx. But to open them, I have to go into my user folder and find the launcher there. I would like to add their icons to the interface. For example put Songbird in the Sound and Video section. Adding to the Favourites section seems easy enough on the icons that are already placed, but how do you get them in the sections in the first place?

I've done some searching on the net and it seems that this is an easy process for standard Ubuntu. But I can't find any info for NBR. Can anyone clearly explain the process to me? I'm still new at Linux, mind. So if it needs any command language in the terminal, I have to copy and paste it!

thanks

Brandon Williams
August 2nd, 2009, 11:10 PM
There is an application found in the Preferences menu titled 'Main Menu'. This is an editor for the main menu that you can use to add/edit/hide menu items.

Spaceford
August 3rd, 2009, 11:39 AM
Thanks! That's so easy. Really appreciate that.

I can also see how to replace the icon, but it doesn't seem to recognize png. files. Only svg. files.

Brandon Williams
August 3rd, 2009, 04:13 PM
It can deal with most image types, I think. The browser works a little bit strangely, though. It only lets you browse for directories, and then after you select one, it fills up the window with all the icons in that directory.

valhar2000
November 5th, 2009, 04:08 PM