PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "rdesktop -f myserver.com" not working in startup applications command line

shirubia
August 1st, 2009, 12:38 AM
Hi all I'm having a problem with SYSTEM>PREFERENCES>STARTUP APPLICATIONS>COMMAND

I created a new startup app to launch remote desktop when a user logs in. This is what I'm entering into the COMMAND line:

rdesktop -f myserver.com

This works in a terminal window, but doesn't work in STARTUP APPLICATIONS>COMMAND.

I've read a couple threads about this issue, but they weren't resolved or the answer wasn't given. I'm completely new to Ubuntu so any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

XanTrax
August 1st, 2009, 02:03 AM
Hi all I'm having a problem with SYSTEM>PREFERENCES>STARTUP APPLICATIONS>COMMAND

I created a new startup app to launch remote desktop when a user logs in. This is what I'm entering into the COMMAND line:

rdesktop -f myserver.com

This works in a terminal window, but doesn't work in STARTUP APPLICATIONS>COMMAND.

I've read a couple threads about this issue, but they weren't resolved or the answer wasn't given. I'm completely new to Ubuntu so any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Maybe try:

sh -c "rdesktop -f myserver.com"

shirubia
August 3rd, 2009, 07:09 PM
Maybe try:

sh -c "rdesktop -f myserver.com"

Hi XanTrax,

Thanks for the quick reply, I tried it.. but sadly it didn't work.. Do you have an idea of why its not working? Or some other way to work around this issue?

asmoore82
August 3rd, 2009, 07:34 PM
try
/usr/bin/rdesktop -f myserver.com

shirubia
August 3rd, 2009, 08:37 PM
try
/usr/bin/rdesktop -f myserver.com

Hi thanks for the reply,

I tried this as well and its not working.. I noticed that there's another auto-start application called "Remote Desktop" I tried deleting it but it wont let me.. Could this be why its not working?

I also found this link: http://www.riccardoriva.com/archives/443