PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing ubuntu 9.04 on a HP dv6 1100.EO

Turk4n
July 31st, 2009, 08:09 PM
Hello !

I am quite new to ubuntu and the whole gnu/linux thing. I bought for myself a new laptop which is really cool and neat !

It works wonders with windows and I have no special problems or so. Now when I want to install ubuntu it seems like the ubuntu cd or dvd installs or even boot up(GUI mode). So I did a minimalistic installation and it went ok. Now comes the problem. I can't get my gfx to work, screen resolution is messed. ACPI bad and the laptop gets freaking hot !
I seem to not have any sound or so from any jacket !

So some specs...

AMD Turion X2 64 RM-74 2.2GHz 1MB L2 cache(512/core)
4GB DDR2 800MHz Samsung CXPC6400
ATi Mobility Radeon HD 4650 1GB GDDR3/DDR2
Sound Blaster 16Bit PRO...

Could anyone possibly help me as soon as possible?
I would really like to have fun working with gnu/linux before my summer vacation is over !
Thanks in advance !
P.S - Pardon for my bad English(not my mother tongue).

Topher88
July 31st, 2009, 08:24 PM
Hello !

I am quite new to ubuntu and the whole gnu/linux thing. I bought for myself a new laptop which is really cool and neat !

It works wonders with windows and I have no special problems or so. Now when I want to install ubuntu it seems like the ubuntu cd or dvd installs or even boot up(GUI mode). So I did a minimalistic installation and it went ok. Now comes the problem. I can't get my gfx to work, screen resolution is messed. ACPI bad and the laptop gets freaking hot !
I seem to not have any sound or so from any jacket !

So some specs...

AMD Turion X2 64 RM-74 2.2GHz 1MB L2 cache(512/core)
4GB DDR2 800MHz Samsung CXPC6400
ATi Mobility Radeon HD 4650 1GB GDDR3/DDR2
Sound Blaster 16Bit PRO...

Could anyone possibly help me as soon as possible?
I would really like to have fun working with gnu/linux before my summer vacation is over !
Thanks in advance !
P.S - Pardon for my bad English(not my mother tongue).