PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Problem with visual effects

lovejames
July 31st, 2009, 03:20 PM
Hi,

I am a newbie of ubuntu. I am not able to enable visual effects on my desktop. After searching for a few threads about the issue, I have done a Compiz Test. Following is the result.

Gathering information about your system...

Distribution: Ubuntu 9.04
Desktop environment: GNOME
Graphics chip: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 65x/M650/740 PCI/AGP VGA Display Adapter
Driver in use: sis
Rendering method: AIGLX

Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...

Checking for texture_from_pixmap... [ OK ]
Checking for non power of two support... [ OK ]
Checking for composite extension... [ OK ]
Checking for FBConfig... [ OK ]
Checking for hardware/setup problems... [FAIL]

There has been (at least) one error detected with your setup:
Error: Software Rasterizer in use
Can somebody help to figure out what is wrong with my system? I didn't understand what "Software Rasterizer in use" means. Any help is greatly appreciated.

ajgreeny
July 31st, 2009, 04:44 PM
I think you could well be unlucky with compiz because your video card (sis M650/740) is not very well supported, like most sis cards, I'm afraid. You may have to accept a non compiz desktop.

lovejames
July 31st, 2009, 06:50 PM
The other strange thing that I have noticed was the weired display settings. I generally get 1024X768 resolution. But if I boot up the computer without switching on the monitor, it loads 960X600 resolution. I mean, I just switch on the CPU but not the monitor. I have to restart the system by keeping the monitor ON to get the original resolution. I really didn't understand why this is happening. Do I have to necessarily keep the monitor ON every time I switch on the computer?? Or is this also a funny trick played by my poor SIS card??

ajgreeny
July 31st, 2009, 09:36 PM