PDA

View Full Version : Help with a cruddy situation

XxsydenxX
July 31st, 2009, 12:19 AM
I realize you all must get plenty of these types of questions, all of the time, and may find it rather imposing or annoying, but im really in a crunch, and who better to contact then the number one computing site [imo] on in the interwebz! Recently, my computer died out....it was something that i saved up for..for many years...repairs will cost over 800 dollars and i just dont have that money, i can barely afford anything...I am a high school student, whom left my family..I wont go into extreme detail or sob story, but i will say I have had lots of...bruises in my life time. Anyways these bruises caused mental "bruising" and i missed out on alot of school...so im 17 going into the 10th grade...In my school its required you either have a home computer which i no longer have...or a laptop...The operating system doesn't matter as long as it can use Microsoft office so i was thinking about using linux. I'm familiar with linux and used it alot before. Now here is where you come in, could you suggest something VERY cheap to me...which has integrated [or pci card doesnt matter] nvidia graphics, [because of photo manipulation] and something that has atleast an amd athlon x 2 or a Pentium dual core...... I would be so thankful at any help you you could give me...and sadly...my price range...is 200 dollars..i know thats really pushing it. But they have standards set on what our laptops or home computers need to be....the home computer has to be small form factor...and thanks again..really.

red_Marvin
July 31st, 2009, 12:24 AM
I do not know how the market is in the USA and what the prices are, but later posters might benefit from knowing what peripherals you already have, when suggesting parts. Eg. Do you have a monitor you can still use, or does that have to be included in the USD 200?