PDA

View Full Version : New Linux User here

PcPro12
July 30th, 2009, 02:49 AM
Hello everyone, I'm new to linux. I've tried a couple distros before, including ubuntu, and always came back to it. I'm still young at age, so I got years ahead to learn linux, etc...

I like technical stuff, programming, computer problem solving...I've worked with windows, xp, vista, win7, fixed people's PC's, and wanting to learn some programming...

So I downloaded Ubuntu 9.04, got it up and running, seems good, got the hang of it pretty quickly, few minutes and I knew my way around...I read more than half of the pocket ubuntu guide..I downloaded Ubuntu Server 9.04...and hardly got anything done...

So far, I got Ubuntu 7.10, Ubuntu 9.04, Ubuntu Server 9.04, and burning Ubuntu 8.04 LTS right now, I also got a couple other distros, Debian, Kubuntu, and forgot other names...I'm having trouble with Ubuntu 9.04 because of it freezing, but that's being dealt with on another topic...So I'm going back to Ubuntu 8.04 LTS...

I like the thought of working with the terminal, doing stuff using commands, learning to program in python or what language it offers. So I'm looking to get WELL into linux. It's much faster and stable than windows, it's open source, and many other advantages. I've learned a few simple commands from the pocket guide and want to learn more.

I'm going to finish reading the pocket guide soon, once I get linux running again, and looking to continue my study of Linux and programming. I tend to want to learn fast and want guides that get down to the point...I really don't have any specs at to what I want a distro to do...I got other computers in the house that run windows, so anything I need, I have a backup...

So I would like to ask, if anyone can provide some more further studies I can do? To learn more about linux, any distro that can help me advance in my technical skills...any programming languages recommended to learn, I'm sure python is one of them...