PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] pidgin not working with yahoo

stlsaint
July 29th, 2009, 12:27 AM
hey, im not the most experienced but im not a total newbie...so heres my issue! i cant see any of my contacts when i set up pidgin instant messenger with yahoo. i load the profile correctly but when i sign in i see absolutely nothing on the screen...its all white saying that im available but with no contacts!!! please help!!!!

spcwingo
July 29th, 2009, 02:44 AM
(First see edit at bottom)

Have you upgraded to Pidgin 2.5.8? If not, that version fixes most problems with Yahoo. You can download and install Pidgin from their site (here (http://www.pidgin.im)) or from their PPA. To add the PPA to your sources list just copy/paste this:

-----BEGIN PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----
Version: SKS 1.0.10

mI0ESXXu9wEEAM2fOLi65x7hpnmDhTelWDSz+2ktpBuaBizVnV rS5clEVW5BfvQQbqzF1rur
gxTf+0y54s+ZIDOX1OIpiaZK9RYIxWq9KuF2urwv4qK3e0AeWY U6b44YPjgFhQ/LEq0QCTuN
/fKpIenTov9P2O66t9d5cQfiAtTB0NogMLiAjXOBABEBAAG0I0x hdW5jaHBhZCBQUEEgZm9y
IFBpZGdpbiBEZXZlbG9wZXJziEYEEhECAAYFAknOAzkACgkQbf U6uV4fG84AJgCgudiLwQbD
+Kur+VdVc8GVMKu15XYAoKzf06cdX4l+RnfTHJ6hj5TQlY9MiL YEEwECACAFAkl17vcCGwMG
CwkIBwMCBBUCCAMEFgIDAQIeAQIXgAAKCRB/uL7gofGWqIi6A/9jDrYXq2wgFjQkCFGH+Nxd
IbGs1O4OKs+AMe2UiN5YVkQu9XOYoaYaxwNe0WnFJhf4cxPChk WYk16GVMchnDWppVUaUGh4
ojmbY4Gi7VnwC0AiMbtZgnJN9NTZ5W2IhmHJKKkFSZcdbcjNr0 YL/8XusbTw4Zeb7214G77z
8qj9/Q==
=CKTU
-----END PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----

into your text editor and save as pidgin.gpg to your home directory. Next press ALT+F2 and enter this command:

gksu gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

At the bottom of that file add this:

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/pidgin-developers/ppa/ubuntu hardy main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/pidgin-developers/ppa/ubuntu hardy main

If you're not on Hardy replace with your distribution (ie: Intrepid, Jaunty, etc). After that open a terminal and enter this:

sudo apt-key add ./pidgin.gpg && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade