PDA

View Full Version : Assembly and Linux

EagerNewbie
July 28th, 2009, 11:55 PM
Hi, I am 15 years old and a complete newbie to programming, etc. My goal is to become a great programmer / hacker. I got inspired after watching movies like Wargames, sneakers, and Hackers. I REALLY want to do this but I don't really know where to start. I mean, I know that I should just start anywhere... But what would be "thee" place to start.

This question brought me to this book:

"Programming from the Ground Up" By Jonathan Bartlett

Have you read it, do you think it's a good idea?

The thing is, I don't want to start something that will end up being a waste in the long run. So, any recommendations, opinions, tips, strategies, etc... Are all welcome.

Thanks for the help, I need it!

credobyte
July 29th, 2009, 12:03 AM
Thread title differs from what you are asking, so .. Assembly and Linux: http://asm.sourceforge.net/

sam191
July 29th, 2009, 12:06 AM
My friend... I was just in the exact same position not too long ago ;)

Read this:

http://lambdagrok.wikidot.com/forum/t-172028/python-a-toy-language

And here is the tutorial I am doing, it is very good:

http://homepage.mac.com/s_lott/books/nonprog/htmlchunks/index.html

Since I am too a beginner, this is all I can tell you :)

Others who are far more experienced can give you some great advice, but the above is what I recommend.

Good luck ;)

Simian Man
July 29th, 2009, 12:39 AM
Read this (http://catb.org/~esr/faqs/hacker-howto.html)
Learn Python
Write programs you find interesting
Stay away from assembly for a long, long time (if not forever)

EagerNewbie
July 29th, 2009, 03:22 AM
To everyone, thanks for all the help!

Question...

...Why is it wrong for a newbie to learn Assembly? Some say it's a good idea. Why is it a bad idea? Please, I need more info.

OutOfReach
July 29th, 2009, 03:32 AM
To everyone, thanks for all the help!

Question...