PDA

View Full Version : Wish-List for Ubuntu 10.04

Boss 999
July 28th, 2009, 11:21 AM
:KSWell to start, I'm a newbie here. I have been using Ubuntu for the past 4-5 months I guess. I really liked Ubuntu and it's concepts, the real desktop experience. I have also used Ubuntu 8.10 and is now using Ubuntu 9.04. Well I feel that there are some stability problems in Ubuntu 9.04 compared to 8.10. the desktop hangs and crashes etc etc.. Well I want Ubuntu to be the best free Operating System ever. :D

So I planned to put a wish-list (what you wish to be added) for Ubuntu 10.04. You can post what changes and advancements do you wish to see in the next big release of Ubuntu. So I start here..:::P

1- More faster boot (approximately 10 seconds).

2- It would be better if Ubuntu had an inbuilt program to Backup/Restore the entire HDD like a snapshot and save it to another partition.

3- Change the default "Brown Colour" please... It getting bored. The default theme is now boring although you can change themes later.

4- Newer version of Gnome please like Gnome 3.0.

5- DETECT ALL HARDWARE - Support for latest Nvidia Graphics Cards. Although it automatically donloads driver similar to the correct drivers, we need original drivers to get maximum graphics. Detect sound cards. My Creative 5.1 sound card was never detected.

6- Support for 2.1,4.1,5.1,7.1 sound effects for maximum home entertainment. My Ubuntu should be like a real home theater. Ubuntu Media Center should be added maximizing entertainment including new visual and sound experience (Player skins should be added). It should support all music and video formats that are now currently in the world. Ability to increase bass and switch to Pop/Classical/Jazz sound effects. :):guitar:

7- Bring the live experience of Plasma Desktop like that of Sabayon Linux 4.0 and higher. :o
8- More better Cpu & ram usage.

9- A system Optimizer, an open source application, registry cleaner like that of "Tune-up Utilities".