PDA

View Full Version : Programming Languages

BillHudson
July 27th, 2009, 10:52 PM
I'm new to Ubuntu. Been on Windows programming with VB6 and now .NET and also Asm. I was writing stand alone Asm programs and mixing with VB. I would like some suggestions on what I should go for as far as programming. I was looking into Mono, it looks like they have/gonna have VB.NET Looks like you need to put Mono in front of your programs to run them. Is that interpreting? I definetly want stand alone programs. Maybe VB.net isn't a good option, I just have no direction at all. I've been fighting C for 25 years, maybe I need to give in to C# or something.

It's pretty overwhelming learning the operating system and directory structures and commandline and all so thought I'd get some help with suggestions on what others are using for programming as far as Languages, IDE's, and Environments.

Thanks

Can+~
July 27th, 2009, 11:03 PM
The popular choice in ubuntu is Python, because it already comes with the OS and it's easy to learn and has a truckload of libraries. Besides is good for the mind having some Functional paradigm.

Other than that, if you want to stick to statically-typed Object Oriented, go with Java, it's (more) cross-platform.

Mirge
July 27th, 2009, 11:15 PM
The popular choice in ubuntu is Python, because it already comes with the OS and it's easy to learn and has a truckload of libraries. Besides is good for the mind having some Functional paradigm.

Other than that, if you want to stick to statically-typed Object Oriented, go with Java, it's (more) cross-platform.

Seconded... Python is already popular and widely supported, and is only gaining more popularity. It is an interpreted language, but it comes pre-installed on most Linux distro's, and is easy to obtain on any "popular" OS really.

I don't have any experience with Java, and very limited experience with C# .NET... so I can't really comment on that part.