PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hard drive clicking

tompagenet
July 27th, 2009, 10:21 PM
I've just installed Jaunty (9.04) using wubi on my Dell XPS M1330. All is good when running on the mains power, but when running from the battery the hard drive seems to go to sleep and wake up again over and over again, much as described in bug 59695 (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/acpi-support/+bug/59695). That bug is marked as having had a Fix Released, but I'm very much getting the clicking.

I'd really appreciate any help here, and I should say I'm a real Ubuntu beginner, so do spell it out in words of less than one syllable.

Many thanks

Tom

komputes
July 27th, 2009, 11:13 PM
From my experience if your hard drive is clicking, make a backup while you still can...

mikewhatever
July 27th, 2009, 11:33 PM
Well, the bug was mainly a problem on desktop computers where power saving is not a feature of great importance, or on notebooks running on AC power. The fix makes sure there is no disk power saving when running on AC, however, it is only logical to try and save some watts when on battery.
There are ways of reducing disk activity and saving power, quite accidentally, just for your notebook.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=847773

It may look a bit intimidating, but I am sure the author an others, including myself can help.

tompagenet
July 28th, 2009, 08:06 AM
Thanks mikewhatever, kind of you to respond and offer help.

The problem does sound like the aforementioned bug - i.e. while running on battery the hard drive will go to sleep and then wake up again about once a minute, with the distinctive click that accompanies the heads parking and being re-awoken.