PDA

View Full Version : could someone help me make program or script to extract audio from video?

jcm1107
July 27th, 2009, 09:20 PM
Hi, I would like to make my first program or script. I have a command that I use sometimes to take audio from a video file. I just want to make a script that will do it or make a gui program that I can use to edit video. I have never done this before but really want to learn how. I have been wanting to learn programming and I think this may be a good way to start. well here is my command

mplayer -quiet video.mp4 -ao pcm:fast:file=output.wav -vc dummy -vo null -channels 2 -ss 0:01 -endpos 3:11

where video is the name of the video I am getting the music from and output.wav is the audio file and the -ss 0:01 is start time for extraction and -endpos 3:11 is the end of the audio.

I want to be able to just click on a video file and run this and change the extraction time and everything by gui so I guess I would need to probably make a program that could do that? If someone would help I would appreciate it a lot!! Thanks.

jcm1107
July 29th, 2009, 07:26 PM
Could someone please just point me in the right direction? All I can find on learning to make programs is the simple hello world one that makes it say that on the command line. I have found others but they are too much advanced for me. I just need the next step from a hello world program to get a start, becase I cant see how you can do much just by making something print in the terminal.

Reiger
July 29th, 2009, 08:45 PM
You are doing something fairly specific. I/O (input/output) is usually covered towards mid/end sections of language tutorials.

In any case for your script you would probably be happy if you could "just" ask for input file and output file as well as end-pos?
The invocation on the commandline would look like:

./myscript infile outfile endpos

In your code infile will be available as $1, outfile as $2, and endpos as $3. So your sh script would look like:

#!/bin/sh