PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] two hdd with two operating sys help

jokira247
July 26th, 2009, 07:39 PM
hi all i have two hard drives one 500gb and one 160gb i want to connect them both and install ubuntu on the smaller one and vista on the larger one and each hdd will have three partitions one for operating system and two for data and i want to be able to read all the partitions that contains data in both operating systems

so how to do that and how to partition for both systems on both hdd?

also it is my first time to use ubuntu and i only tried it before with windows xp using wubi and i had also a question when i installed it i chose to give it 10gb of space and i found that it took this space completely when i check the space taken from the drive from xp so what is this space for as in windows the windows only takes the space it requires and the rest of the drive is free so what is space take in ubuntu for?

ajgreeny
July 26th, 2009, 09:05 PM
hi all i have two hard drives one 500gb and one 160gb i want to connect them both and install ubuntu on the smaller one and vista on the larger one and each hdd will have three partitions one for operating system and two for data and i want to be able to read all the partitions that contains data in both operating systems

so how to do that and how to partition for both systems on both hdd?

also it is my first time to use ubuntu and i only tried it before with windows xp using wubi and i had also a question when i installed it i chose to give it 10gb of space and i found that it took this space completely when i check the space taken from the drive from xp so what is this space for as in windows the windows only takes the space it requires and the rest of the drive is free so what is space take in ubuntu for?