PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install Desktop Edition from Bootable USB?

Angura
July 26th, 2009, 03:45 PM
Hi there,

i'm having certain troubles installing ubuntu on my notebook.
It has trouble reading DVDs (for a while) and therefore the installation of the desktop edition eventually fails with an I/O error.
However, the installation of the netbook remix via bootable stick doesn't work either. After choosing to install ubuntu Busybox opens and nothing else happens. Although I found some other threads with a similar problem, I haven't found a solution. (Probably because I'm totally new to Ubuntu / Linux operating systems)

So since the Desktop Edition seems to be installable, but fails because of my DVD-Rom, an installation of the Desktop Edition from a bootbable USB would be pretty nice. Is there such a thing? If not, what else could I do to install ubuntu?

Thanks a lot,
Angura

Sef
July 26th, 2009, 04:13 PM
What is your computer and its specs?

Angura
July 26th, 2009, 04:17 PM
It's a Toshiba Satellite A210 (AMD Turion X2 1.9 GHz, 2GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 2600)

phnhat1984
July 26th, 2009, 09:30 PM
Maybe this topic can help http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1223483

wfvoogd
July 26th, 2009, 10:28 PM
When you have a working ubuntu jaunty desktop on an other computer (or ability to run a live disk), you can use that to create a bootable usb via system->administration->usb startup disk creator. Just point it to a live disk iso image and you're in business. If you don't have another computer, i wouldnt know, i fear...

cheers,

Willem

presence1960
July 27th, 2009, 03:58 AM
When you have a working ubuntu jaunty desktop on an other computer (or ability to run a live disk), you can use that to create a bootable usb via system->administration->usb startup disk creator. Just point it to a live disk iso image and you're in business. If you don't have another computer, i wouldnt know, i fear...

cheers,

Willem

not exactly true...