PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] avg install

bearcreek10
July 25th, 2009, 06:38 AM
Just installed avg-free and cannot access it. The install went fine, no errors. There is supposed to be a shortcut in applications/accessories but there isnt one. I have reinstalled, again with no problems or errors. How do I pull up avg to configure and update?

lisati
July 25th, 2009, 06:43 AM
I don't currently have it installed, but apparently the latest linux-friendly version of AVG Free is command line only.

Edit:
Link for latest (as of posting) Ubuntu-friendly version: http://www.avg.com/filedir/inst/avg85flx-r287-a2632.i386.deb
Link for AVG free forum: http://free.avg.com/freeforum-guide-post

bearcreek10
July 25th, 2009, 06:47 AM
I am new to ubuntu, so does this mean everything I want to do with avg I have to do it from a terminal box and take a wild stab at the command to open what I want?

lisati
July 25th, 2009, 06:51 AM
I am new to ubuntu, so does this mean everything I want to do with avg I have to do it from a terminal box and take a wild stab at the command to open what I want?

It has been a while since I've had AVG on my Ubuntu installation, so I'm not in a good position to contribute much more than I already have. You might want to try the following for information:
man avg
Hopefully someone else might be able to confirm this.

bearcreek10
July 25th, 2009, 06:52 AM
That is the install package I used.

bearcreek10
July 25th, 2009, 06:53 AM
What antivirus are you using?

shantiq
July 25th, 2009, 07:01 AM
Just installed avg-free and cannot access it. The install went fine, no errors. There is supposed to be a shortcut in applications/accessories but there isnt one. I have reinstalled, again with no problems or errors. How do I pull up avg to configure and update?

well mine comes under system tools on the applications dropdown box

i am using jaunty

shan:)

warfacegod
July 25th, 2009, 07:02 AM