PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NOOB: first time ubuntu install

mlinauer
July 25th, 2009, 02:38 AM
I am new to Ubuntu and I am new to linux. I know it is superior to windows and since I am sick of windows (they do not deserve to have their first letter capitalized) I am now going with Ubuntu. I WILL learn to use it and love it because anyone who has lived through the crap I have with miyoursoft, can learn a new OS. How do I know? I had to do that everytime I upgraded my windows!!!

With my complaining out of the way, I can now focus on my problem. I am trying to instal Ubuntu on virtual machine using miyoursofts virtual pc. I am doing this so that I can learn how to use Ubuntu and do a transition which would not cause me any downtime. Problem is that I only get black screens when installing it.

Here are my specs:
Toshiba laptop
model: satellite M305D
processor: AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core 2.1GHz
Memory: 4 gigs
System Type: 6-bit OS

Any suggestions/help is greatly appreciated.

Sorry for being too paniced to check for any threads that might address this issue already.

philcamlin
July 25th, 2009, 02:41 AM
try booting from live cd into the live session then try installing from there

or you could try the alternate cd :popcorn:

mlinauer
July 25th, 2009, 02:46 AM
Will installing Ubuntu screw up my vista? yeah I know that it would not be a big loss if I could not use vista again but I need a computer to operate on.

spcwingo
July 25th, 2009, 02:47 AM
If you just want to try to virtualize, try VirtualBox.

clicky (http://www.virtualbox.org/)

mlinauer
July 25th, 2009, 02:53 AM
okay I will try vitualbox. thanks for the help!!!!

JOHNNYG713
July 25th, 2009, 03:00 AM
Yes virtualbox does work for what it is worth ! but ! if you want a REAL operating system that has it all! and I mean HAS IT ALL go here:

http://ultimateedition.info/