PDA

View Full Version : Static Attributes in Python

SunSpyda
July 23rd, 2009, 06:11 PM
Can anyone tell me a way to make static attributes, that doesn't involve a ugly hack job to get it working? Global doesn't cut it - they need to remain private to the class. It seems like such a chore, considering I started learning Python to make my life easier :D

I thought I can use global privates to do the same thing, but I soon found this didn't work - the class can read them fine, but when I try to write to them, it doesn't work.

So, why can't Python use real static attributes, like in C++ or Java?

monraaf
July 23rd, 2009, 06:25 PM
You mean like?

class foo(object):
bar = 0

SunSpyda
July 23rd, 2009, 06:30 PM
That isn't static. I know how to make instance variables like that, but I don't know how to make statics.

monraaf
July 23rd, 2009, 06:33 PM
Obviously you don't know.

JordyD
July 23rd, 2009, 06:35 PM
Googling gave me this:
http://www.daniweb.com/forums/thread33025.html

Help?

Can+~
July 23rd, 2009, 07:23 PM
#!/usr/bin/env python

class Sample(object):

x = 10

def __init__(self):
self.y = 5

# Instances
samp1 = Sample()
samp2 = Sample()

print "Init:"
print " class:", Sample.x, " 1:", samp1.x, " 2:", samp2.x

# Modify the class
Sample.x = 9

# See what happend on the instances
print
print "Sample.x = 9:"

# Modify one of the childs
samp1.x = 666

# See what happend on the instances and class
print
print "samp1.x = 666:"

Children of the class can see what's on their parent (Sample.x) unless it's override (samp1.x = ???).

smartbei
July 24th, 2009, 10:17 AM
If you want static methods, there is the @staticmethod decorator...

class C(object):
@staticmethod
def my_static_method(arg1, arg2):
""" Note there is no self """

And my_static_method will behave just like you would expect. staticmethod is a built-in, so you don't need to do anything to import it.

SunSpyda
July 26th, 2009, 04:18 PM
You mean like?

class foo(object):
bar = 0

Obviously you don't know.