PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I finally got it!!:D

TheNerdAL
July 23rd, 2009, 02:50 PM
I finally Got the Md5 Sums to be the same! After 2 Days and waiting almost 2 whole nights, I finally got it! I am new to Wubuntu. Also I created a Partition, and I would like to know if Ubuntu Creates one with that Partition Manager thingy when you first boot up. When I get to that Step, How Can I Tell Ubuntu to use that Partition?

EDIT: Also Thanks for Helping me if you helped me! I know I will love this Forum.:D

raymondh
July 23rd, 2009, 02:58 PM
I finally Got the Md5 Sums to be the same! After 2 Days and waiting almost 2 whole nights, I finally got it! I am new to Wubuntu. Also I created a Partition, and I would like to know if Ubuntu Creates one with that Partition Manager thingy when you first boot up. When I get to that Step, How Can I Tell Ubuntu to use that Partition?

EDIT: Also Thanks for Helping me if you helped me! I know I will love this Forum.:D

Am assuming you wish to dual-boot (as you are talking about partition/partitioning.

Boot into the liveCD. When you get to step 4 (partitioning), you'll be presented with options on how to install. Simplest is to use GUIDED RESIZE which will give you a graphical slider (you grab the hash-mark looking slider) and slide away to allocate the sizes per OS. Another option is MANUAL. You choose the partition you want to install Ubuntu, you format EXT3 or 4, you set mountpoint / (known as root), you define your SWAP and set as Linux SWAP file system, and continue with the install.

Post back if you need assistance in MANUAL installations.

Good luck. BACK-UP before doing any partitioning work. Also, if dual-booting with windows, DEFRAG windows first.

raymondh
July 23rd, 2009, 03:03 PM
OK/EDIT, just noticed that YOU CREATED A PARTITION already.

Is it primary or extended? If primary, are you planning on creating a SWAP partition or not?

The general idea will be:

1. Click to highlight the created partition