View Full Version : [ubuntu] xterm: maximized by default
crowhill
July 22nd, 2009, 11:41 PM
hi there
i'm using vim in xterm. therefore, i want xterm to open in a maximized window by default. however, when i add
xterm*maximized: true
to my .Xresources file, xterm does not startup fully maximized. i always have to hit <alt+space> to open the window menu, followed by hitting <x> to get it nicely maximized. how can i make xterm to open in a maximized window?
by the way, typing
xterm -maximized
in a gnome-terminal (or in xterm) does not give me a fully maximized xterm window either.
some help would be fantastic.
thanks a lot in advance,
cheers,
crowhill.
kerry_s
July 23rd, 2009, 12:10 AM
the ~/.Xresources is
XTerm*Maximized: true
make sure you run-> xrdb -merge $HOME/.Xresources
i suggest putting the command in ~/.profile so it can be loaded when you log in.
can't say about the command line it works for me.
crowhill
July 23rd, 2009, 12:24 AM
the .Xresources file is not case sensitive, as it seems ... your line made no difference (after logging out and back in to restart the x-session).
i also run xrdb -merge $HOME/.Xresources but i get the output
/home/usr/.Xresources:1:3: error: invalid preprocessing directive #File
take a look at my screenshots. the first shows how xterm looks before i do the <alt+space> followed by <x> and the second after i've done it. the difference is small but it bothers me ...
kerry_s
July 23rd, 2009, 02:50 AM
the first is maximized, what its doing is keeping the proper row to column ratio.
try reading: http://invisible-island.net/xterm/xterm.faq.html#setup_resize
from here, in case you want to learn other stuff:
http://invisible-island.net/xterm/xterm.faq.html
crowhill
July 23rd, 2009, 12:04 PM
thank you very much for your effort. however, the link you sent me contains information that is too advanced for me.
i tried to add something to my .vimrc file so that vi starts up in a maximized window when i call it from xterm. i tried to use the set columns and the set lines but it didn't really work (the adjustments seem to happen inside the given xterm window).
what are the commands behind the window menu entries (you get the menu by hitting <alt+space>)? if i knew them i might be able to put the one for the maximization in either .Xresources or .vimrc. another option would be to write a bash script that'd start xterm and then execute that unknown metacity-window-maximizing/fullscreening-command. any ideas on that?
i really hope i can fix this.
thank you very much,
cheers,
crowhill.
poosietgp
July 23rd, 2009, 12:49 PM
how about...
xterm --geometry 1280x1024
crowhill
July 23rd, 2009, 01:20 PM
nope, still the same window size, which you get from
xterm -maximized
and that is not fully maximized ...
crowhill
July 23rd, 2009, 01:29 PM
i figured out a solution. however, it's not perfect (i guess, this is because neither any x-session nor metacity are perfect).
first, i installed devilspie. second, i wrote the script
(if
(is (application_name) "xterm")
(fullscreen)
)
saved it under xterm_start.ds, which i put in a new folder /home/usr/.devilspie. finally, i made devilspie to start automatically when ubuntu fires up. now, hitting my preferred <ctrl+alt+t> gives me not only an xterm but also a maximized one!
i would be much happier though if this could be done without having to install additional stuff.
anyways,
thx a lot for all your help.
cheers,
crowhill.
poosietgp
July 24th, 2009, 07:29 AM
did you type xterm -maximized in cli?
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.