PDA

View Full Version : Cant chuck Vista off

pbremner
July 22nd, 2009, 09:16 AM
Hi. Very frustrated semi tech newbie here. Just bought a new Compaq presario CQ61. I cannot get rid of vista to install Ubuntu 9.0. I have tried setting the dvd drive as the default/primary boot device without success. This vista really has self preservation at heart, all its done is make me hate Microsoft even more. I have read stuff about the MBR and BCD etc. I have also been told to create a DOS boot disk on a flash drive, boot off it and format the drive. I am now confused, frustrated and not sure which option(s) i should try. Any help is appreciated.
regards,
Patrick

grubnoob
July 22nd, 2009, 09:41 AM
For computer specific problems, you need to search the internet for people with same problem as you. Use google and type your computer model and your problem, as a real question. Usually you get a hit or two were people have same problems as you and if you are lucky, it has been solved by someone else.

Good luck

prshah
July 22nd, 2009, 09:58 AM
I have tried setting the dvd drive as the default/primary boot device without success.

If this has not worked, then you need to check either the drive (unlikely to be a problem) or the Ubuntu disc you are using in it (very likely to be the problem).

At this point in the game, Vista has not yet loaded and cannot be interfering in any way.

Get another CD / DVD, burn an Ubuntu image onto it at a slower speed, and try again.

I have also noted that some (brand-new) LG DVD-RAM drives are flawless at handling DVDs but less forgiving with _some_ CDs. Not that you need to change your drive; just use a higher quality blank CD.

dk06
July 22nd, 2009, 10:09 AM