PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Data lost on reboot from live USB

KakDela
July 22nd, 2009, 04:19 AM
I am using a live USB to boot ubuntu, and each time I reboot, all (or it seems like all) settings are reset and data is erased: firefox history, game scores, which driver is active, etc...

any ideas? I am new to linux (only started yesterday), so keep that in mind in your answer.

Thanks in advance.

LookTJ
July 22nd, 2009, 04:26 AM
a live USB is like a live CD, meaning it only boots to RAM.

RAM is temporary storage unlike a HDD, which is read/write.

HotShotDJ
July 22nd, 2009, 04:29 AM
Because it is a CD distribution. Every time your reboot a live cd, it is exactly like doing a destructive reinstallation. Live CD's are for the purpose of testing/experiencing Linux before committing yourself to a full install. To get a fully functioning system, including retaining settings across boots, you'll need to install Ubuntu.

There are many options available... you can install it on top of your current system (effectively removing your current OS), you can dual-boot, you can create a USB drive with Ubuntu on it and run it from that. Start with this handy Installation Guide: https://help.ubuntu.com/9.04/installation-guide/i386/index.html

KakDela
July 22nd, 2009, 04:48 AM
Hmm... I was under the impression that for live USBs, as oppose to live CDs, settings (at least system settings) were stored to the flash drive... I could have sworn that I read somewhere that when there were only live CDs, people would carry CDs to boot from and flash drives to load settings and files off of, but with the introduction of live USBs, everything could be stored on one flash drive.

I thought that the whole point of a live USB was that the operating system could be booted on any computer; if all data is erased, that would destroy the point, wouldn't it?

I'm not quite ready yet to fully install ubuntu.