PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Grub error 17

Isoas
July 22nd, 2009, 12:26 AM
Ok so I'm brand new to the linux scene and I tried out Ubuntu 9.04 with a dual boot to my Vista. I had some problems with Ubuntu recognizing my nvidia drivers and decided to get rid of Ubuntu and try Linux Mint. So while in Vista, I deleted the partition containing Ubuntu. Then, went on to make the cd for Mint. When I restarted the computer I got the error message:

Grub Loading stage 1.5
Grub loading, please wait
Error 17

then it just stays at that screen.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

asqn34
July 22nd, 2009, 01:21 AM
hello Isoas
I found those link below when my grub was giving me some error.
Also on the grub website there is a list of common error code explain.
Basicaly error 17 mean that grub cannot reconnise what type of system file it has to mount

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/linux-tutorials-howtos-reference-material/9398-solving-boot-problems-grub-2nd-edition.html

http://www.linuxselfhelp.com/gnu/grub/html_chapter/grub_toc.html

Hope it help

oldfred
July 22nd, 2009, 01:28 AM
I believe you deleted grub from everything but the mbr when you deleted Ubuntu. The mbr points to /boot/grub to get the stage 1.5 etc & menu.lst files. If you deleted Ubuntu you also deleted the boot directory.

Go ahead and install mint and it should create all new boot/grub files and rewrite the mbr to point to the new location of the /boot/grub files. Other choice is to use the windows disk to repair the mbr - fixdisk/fixboot.

I have been using Ubuntu for 2 or 3 years and while having some issues with the nvidia drivers over the time I am running both the 32 bit from an upgrade (this I believe is where issues were created) and 64 bit from a clean install without any problems at all.

presence1960
July 22nd, 2009, 03:23 AM