PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't get Gnomenu on panel



Evan30
July 21st, 2009, 02:54 AM
So i'm a little bit of a newb to linux, and I was recently trying to change some appearnces settings. I downloaded and installed gnomenu, but for some reason I cannot add it to my panel. Any solutions?

jeppewinther
July 21st, 2009, 03:44 AM
Did you follow the instructions in the readme that came with the program?

Did it cough up any errors?

rsiddharth
July 21st, 2009, 03:57 AM
So i'm a little bit of a newb to linux, and I was recently trying to change some appearnces settings. I downloaded and installed gnomenu, but for some reason I cannot add it to my panel. Any solutions?
I think you may not have installed all the dependency packages needed to run Gnomenu . Also , I searched for Gnomenu in the Official repositories in synaptic to find that there was no GnoMenu package available , This might mean that it may not be supported by ubuntu .

try these links if you can find something :
http://abz89.wordpress.com/2008/12/30/how-to-add-a-pretty-vista-menu-to-your-linux-desktop/

http://www.google.co.in/search?q=gnomenu+install&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=com.ubuntu:en-US:unofficial&client=firefox-a

Evan30
July 21st, 2009, 10:52 AM
Thanks for the help, not sure what it was, but I just removed it, installed it again, and it worked. must have done something minor to mess it up the first time.