PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu and Hardware RAID

phibit
July 21st, 2009, 01:14 AM
Hi,

I recently bought 2x500 GB hard drives, and I would like to set them up in a hardware RAID 0 configuration, but I'm not sure how well this is supported in Ubuntu.

My understanding is that, to install Ubuntu on a RAID array, you need to use the alternate install CD, but apart from that I have zero knowledge.

Does anybody have some experience or knowledge with Ubuntu and hardware RAID arrays?

Or, does anybody have any positive experiences with Ubuntu and software RAID arrays?

Any advice would be very appreciated!

Also, on a related note, I'd be really interested to hear from someone who had actually run a RAID 0 or 1 configuration with Ubuntu, and how much of a performance difference they noticed, if any.

Thanks a lot!

phibit
July 21st, 2009, 01:47 PM
bump!

bacil
July 21st, 2009, 01:56 PM
Hi,

here is catch i am runing ubuntu on old compaq server with HW raid it took me good week to get drivers for that particular raid. so if youa re planning to use raid please have look for your hw support. (i have to admit that my one is really old hw so that may hava caused it).

as for preformance there is no overhead on os since all raid operations are handled on selarate chip on raid card. thats difference from sw raid where those are handeld by os and creating some overhead.

Any questions ... just ask :-)

phibit
July 21st, 2009, 03:01 PM
Hey! Thanks a lot for the reply! I'm glad to to hear there is no noticeable overhead for hardware raid, and you raise a valid point that I should check if my RAID controller is supported.

The RAID controller I'll be using is the one that's on my XFX nForce 680i motherboard. I'm trying to look up the specs now, but all I seem to be able to find out is that it's a "NVIDIA MediaShieldTM RAID", which I'm fairly sure is just a branding of RAID, and not the controller model.