PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Monitor: Unknown cannot change resolution

exposeenmity
July 21st, 2009, 12:42 AM
First post, w00t. Now that's out of the way, I am a life long Windows administrator looking to learn about linux based os's. I've tried installing linux in the past (two years ago), but had so much trouble and no resources providing clear information, so I gave up out of frustration.

I've decided to give it another go and I'm still having problems. I don't have a dedicated box to run this on, so have the latest version of Ubuntu (9 something) installed on a virtual pc 2007 sp1. I know some of you will just say, "Install Sun's VirtualBox." But I am not looking for another virtualization solution. I'm the type of person that if there's a problem, I want to fix it, not throw out the baby with the bath water.

With that being said, my physical pc is running XP Pro SP3. My issue is I cannot for the life of me figure out how to change the resolution in Ubuntu. I have spent 3 straight days (not an exaggeration) on trying to figure this out. I have tried System-Preferences-Display, but it states that the monitor is unknown, the refresh rate is 0Hz, and the highest resolution is 896x600. I have tried editing my xorg file, updating the system, running the command "sudo apt-get install xorg-driver-fglrx", and other things that I cannot recall.

My physical pc is using a cheap ATI Radeon X300. When I run the command "lspci -nn | grep VGA" in Ubuntu I receive the following: 00:08.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: S3 Inc. 86c764/765 [Trio32/64/64V+] [333:8811]

I'm not familiar with linux commands or lingo so any "dumbed down" help is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to read this! :) Again, I apologize for a repeat thread. I know you all see this stuff over and over again.

wojox
July 21st, 2009, 12:48 AM
Look in System > Administration > Hardware Drivers

See what it suggests for a graphics driver and enable it.

exposeenmity