PDA

View Full Version : tkinter askdirectory question

dalandtwist
July 20th, 2009, 09:28 AM
Hello,

I need to get the name of a directory and place that name into a label widget.

Currently I am using the askdirectory function to open the browser and select a folder. like below and that seems to work no prob.

def Selectjob(self):
dir1 = askdirectory(title="Select the Job Folder", mustexist=1)

What I need to figure out is how to insert that dir1 value (the directory path) into a
label. What I have below is not working. I am pretty new at this, and feel like I have somekind of syntax error.

self.lbl = Label(self, text="dir1.get()" )
self.lbl.grid(row=3, column=5)

Any ideas?

thanks!

david

smartbei
July 20th, 2009, 09:38 AM
Just take it out of the quotes:

self.lbl = Label(self, text=dir1.get())

Does that work?

EDIT: more info:
To change it after it has been created check out the reference here http://effbot.org/tkinterbook/label.htm.

dalandtwist
July 20th, 2009, 10:29 PM
Thank you for replying. I tried removing the quotes but no luck. I have attached my script. It's a simple folder building tool but I need the ability to choose a directory so I can add additional folders when needed. Any help is appreciated. I am new to Tkinter and Python but am very interested in learning. I commented out the area where I am having problems.

thank you all,

david

stevescripts
July 21st, 2009, 03:19 PM
dalandtwist,

No time right now to look at your script.

A quickie hack that might help with your problem:

#!/usr/bin/python

from Tkinter import *
from tkFileDialog import *

def the_dir():
dirname = askdirectory()
label.configure(text = dirname)

main = Tk()

button = Button(main, text = "Choose Directory", command = the_dir)
label = Label(main)

button.pack()
label.pack()

main.mainloop()

If this doesn't help, will try to find time to look at your script.

Steve

dalandtwist
July 21st, 2009, 08:43 PM
hi steve,