PDA

View Full Version : ftp w/tabs and file monitoring

phazei
July 20th, 2009, 01:42 AM
I'm a PHP developer and often I'm working on multiple sites at once. I want to move to Ubuntu exclusively. In windows I use SmartFTP. I'm looking for a FTP client that will monitor as many files as I choose to edit and automatically upload them to the ftp servers on save. I'd prefer it to use tabs for multiple sites as it's easier than having an extra 3-4 items on the task panel.

dlmarti
July 20th, 2009, 02:44 AM
There are sooo many ftp clients for Linux its not even funny.
Personally I use ncftp, its a really old command line program, but I love it.

filezilla is always a good one, and you can always setup bookmarks under your "places" for this type of thing.

rdist, scp, svn, all play a role in my software roll outs. ncftpput, ncftpget, are all good options.

phazei
July 20th, 2009, 04:36 AM
I can understand a cli ftp program if you just need to upload a single batch of files, but I don't understand how it could be used productively when there are lots of files.

I sometimes need to be editing like 20+ files at a time, so I would have to continually browse to 20 different locations and individually download and upload the files over and over again, that would take so much time. With a GUI, you just click and edit.

I've looked at many of the GUI ftp programs, but none of them have the functionality many of the windows programs have. I was hoping there was something I missed that would allow me to maintain my productivity in linux.

I need a program where I can click edit on as many files as I want, and each time I save, it will automatically upload the new version to the ftp. It's rather common functionality in windows. It seems all that linux has to offer is plain basic functionality, where actually being able to save multiple locations is an 'oohh aahh' feature. Linux is where GUI ftp was in the 90's for windows.

monraaf
July 20th, 2009, 04:53 AM