PDA

View Full Version : Help a Newbie with Installing

bbucsis
July 18th, 2009, 12:11 AM
Hi There everyone, I'm brand new to the Ubuntu universe and am needing a bit of support with instaling Ubuntu to my Acer Aspire One netbook (standard specs with Intel Atom).

Ive downloaded the .IMG File and put it onto a USB stick using the Disk Imager supplied on the Install page. The next bit of instruction is asking me to run a Command Line Interface- I understand what the instructions ask me to do, however the website I am linked to for the file needed to run the Line is in Russian (I think?) and so I am having difficulty navigating it.

Just needing some help with this last bit of the process. Also, after I run the Command Line, will I simply need to repoot my Netbook for it to read as a boot disk, and then install Ubuntu from there? Also, does Ubuntu have an automatic partition manager while installing, or should I partition my drive before hand?

And last question, the Netbook came preinstalled with Windows XP, I have since installed several programs to this OS. I just want to make sure that when I install Ubuntu to my Netbook under a seperate partition that it will not remove any of these files or programs, and that they will be able to be run if I boot in Windows XP again in the future?

Thanks for helping me out, I know this is alot of questions, and I am sorry if any of this has been answered previously in the forums. I tried searching for answers, but I couldn't really find anything that helped me. Thanks in advance for the help!

neu2buntu
July 18th, 2009, 12:18 AM
i used "unetbootin" to make a live usb to install ubuntu onto my aa1,.. and you will have the option of keeping windows and installing alongside it,so in other words a dual boot... although i did this from my other laptop running ubuntu i am almost sure it can be done from windows...... just search unetbootin on google

bbucsis
July 18th, 2009, 01:49 AM