PDA

View Full Version : Why do you need root to shut down via CLI but not via GUI?

l-x-l
July 16th, 2009, 07:38 PM
OK... I'm a relative linux noob but one thing I don't get about linux & Ubuntu. Why do you need sudo privileges to shutdown/reboot a DESKTOP OS in CLI but in GUI those privileges aren't requested to perform the requested function?

I could understand in a server environment where you'd want to restrict that but on a desktop OS, why do u need sudo to do the following in CLI:

1. poweroff
2. reboot
3. sudo shutdown -h now
4. sudo shutdown -r now

I'm tempted to send in a paper-cut on it. Someone help me with the logic.

t4thfavor
July 16th, 2009, 07:44 PM
because if your sitting at your desktop, you usually know if others are using it. When I ssh into my desktop from work, and my wife is on the PC, I tend to want to have to think twice about rebooting my PC hence the password.

It gives you a second change to think about what you are doing, and you cannot accidentally select the command by pressing up arrow, and then enter.

With the GUI you get a prompt that tells you there are others logged onto the system, and you could possibly lose unsaved data.

Make sense?

l-x-l
July 16th, 2009, 07:56 PM
because if your sitting at your desktop, you usually know if others are using it. When I ssh into my desktop from work, and my wife is on the PC, I tend to want to have to think twice about rebooting my PC hence the password.

It gives you a second change to think about what you are doing, and you cannot accidentally select the command by pressing up arrow, and then enter.

With the GUI you get a prompt that tells you there are others logged onto the system, and you could possibly lose unsaved data.

Make sense?

Actually no it doesn't make sense. Instead of asking for a password why doesn't it just ask for confirmation with a "[Y/N/?]" prompt like other apps I've seen do. Why the requirement for a password to do such a mundane task?