PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation Problem on HP Laptop

ASCIIraider
July 15th, 2009, 07:42 PM
Hi Guys,

Well after a successful 7.04 install I wanted to get a newer supported version of Ubuntu. However neither 9.04 nor 8.04 will install. I am a total Linux noob so am rather perplexed by this turn of events. Some searching has so far yielded no results save that I found a post from someone with an LG laptop who was experiencing the same problem.

Lappy is an HP nc8000 P4-M/1.4 with 512MB RAM, 160GB HDD, 32MB ATI video. There was some mention about Ubuntu not liking some Intel chipsets (845 I think). The error always comes in at around 44% and says something along the lines of input/output error - usually caused by a bad disk, but I am using quality blanks and burning at 8x. I think the error number was 5.

Has anyone got any ideas as to how I can install either Ubuntu 8 or 9 on my laptop?

Thank you. :)

mynameinc
July 15th, 2009, 07:49 PM
Hi Guys,

Well after a successful 7.04 install I wanted to get a newer supported version of Ubuntu. However neither 9.04 nor 8.04 will install. I am a total Linux noob so am rather perplexed by this turn of events. Some searching has so far yielded no results save that I found a post from someone with an LG laptop who was experiencing the same problem.

Lappy is an HP nc8000 P4-M/1.4 with 512MB RAM, 160GB HDD, 32MB ATI video. There was some mention about Ubuntu not liking some Intel chipsets (845 I think). The error always comes in at around 44% and says something along the lines of input/output error - usually caused by a bad disk, but I am using quality blanks and burning at 8x. I think the error number was 5.

Has anyone got any ideas as to how I can install either Ubuntu 8 or 9 on my laptop?

Thank you. :)

Did you MD5 the image before burning the disk? Also, before installing, use the "Check the CD for defects" option.

Mark Phelps
July 15th, 2009, 10:31 PM