PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem with Installing

samuel.stidham314
July 15th, 2009, 06:12 PM
I know that this is probably pathetic for a CIT major to break down and ask for help with this problem, seeing I should probably already know how to fix this problem. However, I'm having an extremely difficult problem trying to figure out how to get an installation of Ubuntu on my hard drive.

Okay, I have tried several versions of Ubuntu and Kubuntu (along with certain other versions of linux) and what I have discovered is in most versions I have tried my hard drive and it's partitions are hidden .... and in Ubuntu 7.10 live session ... I opened up "My Computer" and right clicked the Hard Drive .... the permissions are set to read only. I have tried to change these settings in the live setting but it says that I cant do that for some reason.

All help is much appreciated.

I am an Ubuntu beginner ... I mean I barley know how to set up the partitions and install the operating system successfully. I have run successfull installations of Ubuntu before, but not on this hard drive or with this computer.

Thanks

grizzyfizzy
July 15th, 2009, 06:19 PM
I installed Ubuntu 9.04 on the whole disk. I used a Boot Nuke program to get rid of everything then just installed the operating system with the cd from a cold boot. It seems to be working fine for me.

samuel.stidham314
July 15th, 2009, 06:25 PM
I think I need to restate the question:

How do I change the permissions on the Hard Drive, make it "un hidden" so to speak, to ensure that I can set up the proper partitions for installing Ubuntu. I have tried everything that I know to try. Here is a list of things I have done to fix this problem:

1. Various different versions of linux, including various versions of Ubuntu/Kubuntu, using the partition manager in each of those versions of linux.
2. I have used FDisk