PDA

View Full Version : Niftiest Thing You've Done with Ubuntu?

Cola_Cartel
July 15th, 2009, 06:12 PM
Howdy-ho everyone,

I'm new to Ubuntu and experimenting with it as a dual-boot on my laptop alongside XP. I'm enjoying it so far but I want to get a better idea of Linux's supposed flexibility. So my question to you is: what is the niftiest trick you've done with Ubuntu or any other Linux distro? Or better, what capacity does Linux offers you that you think best illustrates its superiority to commercial OS?

Glucklich
July 15th, 2009, 06:16 PM
Still as fast as the day I installed it. How's that for a neat trick?

CharmyBee
July 15th, 2009, 06:17 PM
Make a TV out of it. Ubuntu + TVtime + remote control = almost perfect. Just need push-button live recording that doesn't require 63 hours of a broken MythTV setup process to just write what's on my screen to AVI file.

unknownPoster
July 15th, 2009, 06:21 PM
I used it as a liveCD environment to install Gentoo from a Stage3 tarball.

Other than that, every Linux distribution experiences the same usage from me. :P

ericmc783
July 15th, 2009, 06:37 PM
Just about anything I could do in windows. Video Editing, Viewing, listening to music, uploading my listens to last.fm, using the command line to get things done, etc.

tacantara
July 15th, 2009, 06:53 PM
I've used a bunch of FOSS programs to do neat things like edit photos (GIMP), and prepare presentations and lesson plans (Open Office), on a fast and stable OS platform. The best part is, that these are programs that come with the Ubuntu distribution, and unlike many of the "free" or "shareware" programs written for Windows, I didn't have to worry about them being crapware or bogging down my system.