PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 9.04 Installation-Help

Infinity_RS
July 15th, 2009, 03:35 PM
Hello everyone,I'm new to Linux so I must ask you to help me..
This is my question:
I have recently installed Windows 7 RC on my computer,and I split my HDD(250GB) in 3 partitions,two of that partitions are 50GB each,and the third one is about 135GB...
On first 50GB(C: ) partition I installed Windows 7,and now I want you to tell me how do I install Ubuntu on The second 50GB(D: ) partition,I'm not good with Ubuntu partitioner and I don't want to mess up other partitions i made..I want to use third 135GB(E: ) partition for Data Storage..

So can you please explain me how do I install Ubuntu on already made 50GB partition?

Here is the picture,i already renamed partitions,i just need to install Ubuntu..

http://www.dodaj.rs/f/Y/t2/3zqy2mO1/partitions.jpg

dstew
July 15th, 2009, 05:33 PM
You would install it as usual, using the Live CD, but when you get to Step 4 of 7 "Prepare Disk Space", select Specify partitions manually (advanced). You can then tell the installer to use the partition you set aside for Ubuntu.

You might want to create a small 1 Gb partition to use as swap, but it is not absolutely necessary for an Ubuntu installation.

shicy
July 15th, 2009, 06:32 PM
Hello everyone,I'm new to Linux so I must ask you to help me..
This is my question:
I have recently installed Windows 7 RC on my computer,and I split my HDD(250GB) in 3 partitions,two of that partitions are 50GB each,and the third one is about 135GB...
On first 50GB(C: ) partition I installed Windows 7,and now I want you to tell me how do I install Ubuntu on The second 50GB(D: ) partition,I'm not good with Ubuntu partitioner and I don't want to mess up other partitions i made..I want to use third 135GB(E: ) partition for Data Storage..

So can you please explain me how do I install Ubuntu on already made 50GB partition?

Here is the picture,i already renamed partitions,i just need to install Ubuntu..