PDA

View Full Version : I might start a business building computers

lespaul_rentals
July 15th, 2009, 05:28 AM
I think I might start my own business building custom gaming computers. There are many people who want to have a top-of-the-line gaming machine but have no idea how to build one. They would love to be an idol amongst their friends for having a great computer, and they are sometimes willing to dish out far more than if they were to order the parts themselves and build it from scratch.

I am aware that such companies exist, and they have deals with Microsoft that make it possible to install OEM copies of Windows for far less than the average customer pays.

All this in mind, is this a profitable endeavor? I'm not out looking to get rich quick, I'm just a college student looking to make some spending money.

If things start to look decent, I may get into custom painting cases. It's dirt cheap to do, and you can get some sick results. Would this be a requirement to compete?

Any feedback is welcome.

AoSteve
July 15th, 2009, 05:31 AM
I was going to start that same process. However,when you have the most ultimate machine for sale, someone will have something better. Like the guy who sold his 5.0Ghz< quad core system that ran with N20. I've found that the endevour could be done, but it'd be VERY difficult to compete without some major technical support backing. You'd need an impressive technical support staff to be able to compete with some of the bigger companies, like Alienware for example.

lespaul_rentals
July 15th, 2009, 05:36 AM