PDA

View Full Version : Porting games to other systems?

dragos240
July 15th, 2009, 01:16 AM
Hi, would it be possible to port a newer game from another system to an older system if both systems are 128 bit?

tqx
July 15th, 2009, 01:18 AM
Do you want to port a PS3 game to the Dreamcast?

dragos240
July 15th, 2009, 01:20 AM
No, like a gamecube to dreamcast.

doas777
July 15th, 2009, 01:22 AM
if you can get source code and a compiler for the target architechure, then it is theoretically possible. or you could emulate instead of port.

Xzallion
July 15th, 2009, 02:49 AM
Just because both games support 128bit address space, doesn't mean they are compatible. Different video chipsets are used and different amounts of ram. I'm not a hardware expert, but this would be no small feat, and you would have to have access to the source code. Since Nintendo and third-party developers own the source and nintendo has licensed it, you aren't going to be able to get it. Reverse engineering won't work either, since the data won't have any meaning to it, no logical names for functions, variables, etc. There would simply be to much data to shift through to 'port' it.

Emulation would be the only option, but that creates more overhead that the aging architecture just doesn't have.

CharmyBee
July 15th, 2009, 05:56 PM
Also the Dreamcast has a very weak GPU despite the hype and love that surrounds the fanboys of it. You'd have to think like developing a game for a Pentium II 300MHz computer, with a Riva TNT 16mb.
Though you could get the actual chipset itself, but the card itself was a market failure and is very rare (PowerVR Neon250)

ThisEndlessFall
July 15th, 2009, 06:35 PM
Also the Dreamcast has a very weak GPU despite the hype and love that surrounds the fanboys of it. You'd have to think like developing a game for a Pentium II 300MHz computer, with a Riva TNT 16mb.