PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing on acer laptop, hidden factory partitions

bmuto
July 14th, 2009, 05:34 PM
Hi, I am new to ubuntu and I want to install it to dual boot on my laptop.

The laptop is Acer aspire 6930, with factory installed vista. There are 4 partitions on it currently (factory setup):
1 hidden partition (i'm guessing for booting and/or restoring system)
1 partition for C: with windows and program files etc
1 empty partition for user data
and 1 smaller hidden partition

I was thinking of using this empty data partition to install ubuntu, reserve about 4 gb of it for swap and the rest for /

What I'm worried is that the first partition on the disk is one a hidden partition named "PQSERVICE".

So if I install ubuntu, will it write on this partition to allow dual boot menu?

In this case, will I still be able to use "restore factory default" for vista? (since part of that will be overwritten by ubuntu)

Or in worst case, will I even be able to boot vista? Since this is some non-standard partition I think.

Anyone had similar experience, or can help with some guide link or soemthing? I tried searching forums but couldnt find exactly what I am asking for.

Thank you, and sorry my english is not very good.

Mark Phelps
July 14th, 2009, 05:48 PM
Everyone's probably going to provide different advice, so I can only provide what I've found works well.

If you need more space, you should defrag the Vista OS partition and shrink it using the Vista Disk Management utility. Don't resort to using the Ubuntu installer or a GParted Live CD. If you do, you run the risk of corrupting the Vista OS partition and rendering it unbootable.

Don't touch the hidden partitions if you ever want to recover your machine's Vista install.