July 14th, 2009, 04:42 PM
Hi

I'm very new to the Linux world.
I do have laptop with following configuration,

RAM: 1 GM
HDD : 120 GB (30 GB Free)
Partition: C: OS and Data
Partition D: (RECOVERY)

I can create a new partition from the free space (15GB) for ubundu installation.

I'm bit worried about,
a) Will the installation of ubundu on new partition (Say E:\) will have corrupt the Windoes Vista ?

b) How to removwe ubundu without corruoting the Windows Vista Instaaltion?

Plse help me

Thanks in Advance

KK

Mark Phelps
July 14th, 2009, 06:02 PM
Hi

I'm very new to the Linux world.
I do have laptop with following configuration,

RAM: 1 GM
HDD : 120 GB (30 GB Free)
Partition: C: OS and Data
Partition D: (RECOVERY)

I can create a new partition from the free space (15GB) for ubundu installation.

To install Ubuntu, you need Unallocated space, that is, space that is not inside an existing partition. If this is what you're calling "free space", then you're OK; otherwise, you'll have to shrink an existing partition to create the unallocated space. To shrink the Vista OS partition, be sure to use the Vista Disk Management utility, not the Ubuntu installer or GParted. Using either of the latter runs the risk of corrupting the Vista OS so that it becomes unbootable.

I'm bit worried about,
a) Will the installation of ubundu on new partition (Say E:\) will have corrupt the Windoes Vista ?

Your Ubuntu installation can not be inside an existing NTFS partition, so it will not corrupt Vista. However, it will overwrite the MBR so that it can use GRUB for booting into a menu that will contain entries for both Vista and Ubuntu.

The Ubuntu install will not use drive letters -- those are used in MS Windows.

b) How to remove ubuntu without corrupting the Windows Vista Installation?