PDA

View Full Version : How Can I become an excelent programmer.

hoboy
July 14th, 2009, 07:39 AM
I am interrested in transition from ordinary to excelency.
I really want to be not only programmer but I want to be very good at it.
That mean also a good software designer.
Any input of experience is welcome.
How was your path to become a good programmer ?.
what helped you on it ?.
what did you do to make the transition from programmer to excelency ?.
problem abstraction ? OOP/OOD ?.
any specific language ?.

JohnnySage50307
July 14th, 2009, 08:04 AM
Let me start with a list of credentials and I'll give you my advice; this isn't an ego-trip for me, but just so you can get a bearing on where I'm comming from with what I'm about to say:

I am an Undergraduate Researcher at the University of Pittsburgh; my major is Computer Engineering (best of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering all in one package), and my specific focuses are Control Theory, Robotics, AI, Artificial Neural Networks (ANNs), and Embedded Systems. I know the following programming languages (all ones with a star, I am a rated professional at and have used for more than 5yrs): C*, C++*, Java*, Perl*, Python, VHDL*, MatLab, OpenGL, Visual Basic (6.0 and .NET)*, x86 Assembly, QBasic*.

Given my resume, here is what I advice:
I frequent TopCoder.com; there, (if you register) you can enter competitions, win prizes, and maybe land a decent job. I did this once a few years ago and learned how to tighten my code and streamline it alot.