PDA

View Full Version : Citadel Mail Server Rude support??? give your opinion !!!

pmla
July 14th, 2009, 12:33 AM
I have been using Citadel email server for the past 2 years. The software is actually easy to install and does more or less what is supposed to. Although it lacks many of the functionalities present in others.
http://www.citadel.org

The thing is that I started to use their "support forum" which is in a really bad format BBS like maybe 5 months back.
http://uncensored.citadel.org:8080

And I think the software maintainers are really rude and obnoxious addressing users, and constantly using expressions, this is GPL with don't you do that yourself, why don't you contribute if something is missing or some improvement is needed.

Here are some examples from their BBS support:
Mon Jul 13 2009 03:58:20 PM EDT from dothebart

do you know whats the biggest advance in FLOSS? It doesn't hunt and follow comercial timelines and tries to release code when its ready for primetime.

do you know whats one of the biggest drawbacks in FLOSS? It doesn't hunt and follow comercial timelines and isn't released when you whish it would be.

But!

you can help!

follow SVN Head on your installation, use for example Valgrind to find bugs and report them back to us, so the next release comes earlier.

Mon Jul 13 2009 06:19:09 PM EDT from dothebart

Thanks. your criticism will arive right after your first contribution.

"Remember, we're not running a business on this. We're doing this for fun. For that reason probably none of us has any motivation to get some exchangeserver installed, running, filled with test data, and write an integrated solution to move its content over to citadel."