PDA

View Full Version : Advantages of Wubi versus VM

BobJam
July 13th, 2009, 03:31 PM
I'm a noob and a soon to be refugee from Windows, so be gentle.

The reason I am fleeing Windows is not all that pertinent to this post, but suffice it to say that the recent automatic update controversy . . . "It's confirmed: Windows may update unexpectedly" found on the Windows Secrets newsletter explains it here (http://windowssecrets.com/comp/090702/) . . . drove me over the edge. I'm furious over this because it actually happened to me.

I had been toying with the idea of switching to Ubuntu, but my own experience with the 500 pound Gorilla from Redmond pushing out updates when I had selected "Notify only" was the last straw.

So now I'm learning Ubuntu and am reading a lot of the stuff here on this forum. I already have Ubuntu mounted on a VM within my Windows OS and am climbing that steep learning curve.

One of the issues I have for this transition is Quicken. I use it for my banking, so there not being a Quicken version for Linux/Ubuntu, I will have to either maintain a Windows OS on a VM, or a Wubi installation of Ubuntu.

So, my question is: What are the advantages and disadvantages of a Wubi installation versus a Windows VM?

From what I can tell, a Wubi installation would only be a mounting of Ubuntu within Windows and my machine would always boot into Windows first. Whereas a VM of Windows within Ubuntu would leave Ubuntu as the "real" OS. I'm leaning toward the VM solution, because I pretty much don't want a Microsoft OS as my main OS. But I'm not sure yet.

Wubi seems like it might be a better way to make the transition from Windows to Ubuntu though rather then diving right in at the deep end.

I have two different objectives here, but they may be complementary. On the one hand, I want to make a smooth transition to Ubuntu (Wubi), and on the other I want to maintain the use of Quicken (Windows VM, though Wubi would seem to allow the use of Quicken too).